Securely removes files or directories by overwriting, renaming, and truncating before unlinking. This prevents other users from undeleting or recovering any information about the file from the command line. srm is the brute force behind the Finder's Secure Empty Trash option.
srm can't remove write-protected files owned by another user, regardless of the permissions on the directory containing the file.
Ignore nonexistent files, and never prompt.
Prompt before files are deleted.
Recursively remove the files of directories.
Delete the file, but only overwrite the file with a single pass.
Overwrite the file with seven U.S. Department of Defense-compliant passes (
After overwriting, zero blocks used by file.
Overwrite the file, but don't rename or unlink it.
Display what is being done.
Display help file information for the srm command.
Display the version information for srm.