49.10. Synchronizing Users and Groups

Synchronization is possibly the module's most powerful feature, but also one of the trickiest to use. It can be used to create users or groups that exist on only one system on all of the other systems in your cluster. This is handy if certain users were created outside of this module on only one host and you want to now make them available on all hosts. It is also useful if a new host is added to the cluster and you want to give it all of the users and groups that the other systems have.

Synchronization, however, can have unexpected and possibly harmful effects if you use it incorrectly. For example, simply synchronizing all users on all hosts would be a bad idea, as it could trigger the creation of system ...

Get Managing Linux® Systems with Webmin™ System Administration and Module Development now with O’Reilly online learning.

O’Reilly members experience live online training, plus books, videos, and digital content from 200+ publishers.