OUs protected from accidental deletion

If you went ahead and created some of your own OUs as part of the previous exercise, then you probably noticed the little checkbox that appears and is automatically checked whenever you create a new OU. This checkbox is called Protect container from accidental deletion. Sounds like a good thing, right? But what does this checkbox really do?

Leaving this option selected when creating a new OU means that you won't be able to delete the OU without some extra effort. This applies even to domain administrators. As an example, I have just created a new OU called HR, but now I want to delete this new OU. It ...

Get Mastering Windows Group Policy now with O’Reilly online learning.

O’Reilly members experience live online training, plus books, videos, and digital content from 200+ publishers.