6.8. Versioning

All lists can do versioning (which means that the versioning you learn here can be applied to other lists as well). SharePoint keeps a copy of a list item whenever a change is made so the user can "roll back" to the previous version of the item if necessary.

In a library, that means that every time a document that is attached to a library item is edited and the changes saved to the library, it is considered a new version of the document and its library item. Versions are saved (you can enforce how many) to the Version History of that library item, and versions can be restored or deleted there. Restoring a version of a document means that that version is going to be considered the most recent version and will be moved to the top ...

Get Mastering Windows® SharePoint® Services 3.0 now with O’Reilly online learning.

O’Reilly members experience live online training, plus books, videos, and digital content from 200+ publishers.