3.8. Publishing Pages to Your Site

When you edit a page with versioning turned on, your changes may not be visible to everyone depending on how your SharePoint administrator defined the Draft Item Security and Content Approval settings for your library. To be visible to everyone, your pages must be published. If your site does not use versioning and approval, SharePoint publishes pages by default when you check them back in.

If your site uses versioning, SharePoint publishes only major versions of pages. However, if your site also requires approval, checking in a page to save your changes from your current session does not necessarily make it visible to anyone other than yourself and users with approver rights. Therefore, if you check in a page ...

Get Office and SharePoint 2007 User's Guide: Integrating SharePoint with Excel, Outlook, Access, and Word now with O’Reilly online learning.

O’Reilly members experience live online training, plus books, videos, and digital content from 200+ publishers.