O'Reilly logo

Stay ahead with the world's most comprehensive technology and business learning platform.

With Safari, you learn the way you learn best. Get unlimited access to videos, live online training, learning paths, books, tutorials, and more.

Start Free Trial

No credit card required

PoC||GTFO

Book Description

"This highly anticipated print collection gathers articles published in the much-loved International Journal of Proof-of-Concept or Get The Fuck Out.

PoC||GTFO follows in the tradition of Phrack and Uninformed by publishing on the subjects of offensive security research, reverse engineering, and file format internals. Until now, the journal has only been available online or printed and distributed for free at hacker conferences worldwide.

Consistent with the journal's quirky, biblical style, this book comes with all the trimmings: a leatherette cover, ribbon bookmark, bible paper, and gilt-edged pages. The book features more than 80 technical essays from numerous famous hackers, authors of classics like "Reliable Code Execution on a Tamagotchi," "ELFs are Dorky, Elves are Cool," "Burning a Phone," "Forget Not the Humble Timing Attack," and "A Sermon on Hacker Privilege." Twenty-four full-color pages by Ange Albertini illustrate many of the clever tricks described in the text."

Table of Contents

  1. Cover Page
  2. Title Page
  3. Copyright Page
  4. Contents
  5. Introduction
  6. Chapter 0: A CFP with POC
    1. 0:1 Let us begin!
    2. 0:2 iPod Antiforensics
    3. 0:3 ELFs are dorky, Elves are cool
    4. 0:4 Epistle to Hats of All Colors
    5. 0:5 Returning from ELF to Libc
    6. 0:6 GTFO or #FAIL
  7. Chapter 1: Proceedings of the Society of PoC∥GTFO
    1. 1:1 Lend me your ears!
    2. 1:2 RNG in four lines of Javascript
    3. 1:3 Serena Butler’s TV Typewriter
    4. 1:4 Making a Multi-Windows PE
    5. 1:5 This ZIP is also a PDF
    6. 1:6 Burning a Phone
    7. 1:7 Sermon on the Divinity of Languages
  8. Chapter 2: The Children’s Bible Coloring Book of PoC∥GTFO
    1. 2:1 Ring them Bells!
    2. 2:2 Build your own birdfeeder.
    3. 2:3 A PGP Matryoshka Doll
    4. 2:4 Code Execution on a Tamagotchi
    5. 2:5 Shellcode for MSP430
    6. 2:6 Calling putchar() from ELF
    7. 2:7 POKE of Death for the TRS 80/M100
    8. 2:8 This OS is also a PDF
    9. 2:9 A Vulnerability in Reduced Dakarand
    10. 2:10 Juggernauty
  9. Chapter 3: Address on the Smashing of Idols to Bits and Bytes
    1. 3:1 Fear Not!
    2. 3:2 Greybeard’s Luck
    3. 3:3 This PDF is a JPEG.
    4. 3:4 Netwatch for SMM
    5. 3:5 Packet-in-Packet Mitigation Bypass
    6. 3:6 An RDRAND Backdoor in Bochs
    7. 3:7 Kosher Firmware for the Nokia 2720
    8. 3:8 Tetranglix Boot Sector
    9. 3:9 Defusing the Qualcomm Dragon
    10. 3:10 Tales of Python’s Encoding
    11. 3:11 Angecryption
  10. Chapter 4: Tract de la Société Secrète
    1. 4:1 Let me tell you a story
    2. 4:2 Epistle on the Bountiful Seeds of 0Day
    3. 4:3 This OS is a Boot Sector
    4. 4:4 Prince of PoC
    5. 4:5 New Facedancer Framework
    6. 4:6 Power Glitching Tamagotchi
    7. 4:7 A Plausibly Deniable Cryptosystem
    8. 4:8 Hardening Pin Tumbler Locks
    9. 4:9 Intro to Chip Decapsulation
    10. 4:10 Forget Not the Humble Timing Attack
    11. 4:11 This Truecrypt is a PDF
    12. 4:12 How to Manually Attach a File to a PDF
    13. 4:13 Ode to ECB
  11. Chapter 5: Address to the Inhabitants of Earth
    1. 5:1 It started like this
    2. 5:2 A Sermon on Hacker Privilege.
    3. 5:3 ECB: Electronic Coloring Book
    4. 5:4 An Easter Egg in PCI Express
    5. 5:5 A Flash PDF Polyglot
    6. 5:6 This Multiprocessing OS is a Boot Sector
    7. 5:7 A Breakout Board for Mini-PCIe
    8. 5:8 Prototyping a generic x86 backdoor in Bochs
    9. 5:9 Your Cisco blade is booting PoC∥GTFO.
    10. 5:10 I am my own NOP Sled.
    11. 5:11 Abusing JSONP with Rosetta Flash
    12. 5:12 Sexy collision PoCs
    13. 5:13 Ancestral Voices
  12. Chapter 6: Old Timey Exploitation
    1. 6:1 Communion with the Weird Machines
    2. 6:2 On Giving Thanks
    3. 6:3 Gekko the Dolphin
    4. 6:4 This TAR archive is a PDF!
    5. 6:5 x86 Alchemy and Smuggling
    6. 6:6 Detecting MIPS Emulation
    7. 6:7 More Cryptographic Coloring Books
    8. 6:8 PCB Reverse Engineering
    9. 6:9 Davinci Seal
    10. 6:10 Observable Metrics
  13. Chapter 7: PoC∥GTFO, Calisthenics and Orthodontia
    1. 7:1 With what shall we commune this evening?
    2. 7:2 The Magic Number: 0xAA55
    3. 7:3 Coastermelt
    4. 7:4 The Lysenko Sermon
    5. 7:5 When Scapy is too high-level
    6. 7:6 Abusing file formats
    7. 7:7 AES-NI Backdoors
    8. 7:8 Innovations with Linux core files.
    9. 7:9 Bambaata speaks from the past.
    10. 7:11 Cyber Criminal’s Song
  14. Chapter 8: Exploits Sit Lonely on the Shelf
    1. 8:1 Please stand; now, please be seated
    2. 8:2 Witches, Warlocks, and Wassenaar
    3. 8:3 Compiler Bug Backdoors
    4. 8:4 A Protocol for Leibowitz
    5. 8:5 Jiggling into a New Attack Vector
    6. 8:6 Hypervisor Exploit, Five Years Old
    7. 8:7 Stegosploit
    8. 8:8 On Error Resume Next
    9. 8:9 Unbrick My Part
    10. 8:10 Backdoors up my Sleeve
    11. 8:11 Naughty Signals
    12. 8:12 Weird Crypto
  15. Useful Tables
  16. Index
  17. Colophon
  18. Footnotes
    1. Introduction
    2. Chapter 0: A CFP with POC
    3. Chapter 1: Proceedings of the Society of PoC∥GTFO
    4. Chapter 2: The Children’s Bible Coloring Book of PoC∥GTFO
    5. Chapter 3: Address on the Smashing of Idols to Bits and Bytes
    6. Chapter 4: Tract de la Société Secrète
    7. Chapter 5: Address to the Inhabitants of Earth
    8. Chapter 6: Old Timey Exploitation
    9. Chapter 7: PoC∥GTFO, Calisthenics and Orthodontia
    10. Chapter 8: Exploits Sit Lonely on the Shelf