The Recycle Bin
Despite appearances, every SharePoint site doesn’t fully delete a document or list item if you select that option. It actually hides the item from the List view and displays it instead in the Recycle Bin. It is not moved until it is really deleted. Until then, if you restore it from the Recycle Bin, it appears again in the list with all the same permissions, version history, and list item ID because it was not actually deleted at all. That happens later depending on the settings for the site.
Recycle Bin Settings
The settings for the Recycle Bin are set by the Farm Administrator and these determine if there is a Recycle Bin and how it functions. First I’ll recap some terminology. Web applications in logical terms are the settings ...