There will be circumstances where you will want to remove a project from the server, be it for cleaning up or to improve the speed of your data warehouse (by limiting the scope of data being queried).
Deleting a team project is a drastic move; therefore it is not available through the user interface (UI). Rather you must use the TfsDeleteProject command-line tool.
When you delete a team project, Team System removes references to the project in Team Explorer, SharePoint portal site, and Reporting Services. What it won't delete is your project data within the data warehouse.
One of the most common questions around the delete tool is why version control branches related to the team project can't truly be deleted. You can delete and hide them (using the source control options). One of the answers is that in CMMI, the code and project artifacts need to remain for auditing purposes. Another good reason is that it allows you to restore a version control asset that you may accidentally delete. For example, if you right-click any deleted tree or branch, you can select Undelete to recover the item.
Since the server retains data from a deleted project, you will be unable to create a new team project with the same name as a previously deleted project.
To hide the deleted branch in version control, you can click ToolsOptions, then Source ControlVisual Studio Team Foundation Server. You'll find an option that ...