Red Hat Certificate of Expertise in Server Hardening - Exam EX413 Training

Video description

Get yourself ready to become a Red Hat Certified Architect (RHCA) in this first of five courses taught by a former Red Hat certified trainer and examiner, Bo Rothwell. This course teaches you everything you need to know to pass the Red Hat Certificate of Expertise in Server Hardening EX413 exam. Two important things come with passing the EX413. First, it tells the world that you know how to protect Red Hat Enterprise Linux systems against unauthorized access. Second, it gets you closer to becoming an RHCA with the coveted datacenter concentration. Earning the RHCA: Datacenter requires that you pass five separate tests.

This course gets you through one of those tests, the EX413. Take this course, pass the EX413, and then look for Bo's other RHCA: Datacenter exam prep courses. Note: the EX413 exam can only be taken by those who already hold the Red Hat Certified Engineer certification.

  • Learn from a former Red Hat Certified Instructor and Examiner
  • See demonstrations of all the tasks covered in the EX413 exam
  • Understand how to protect Red Hat Enterprise Linux systems against unauthorized access
  • Prepare to pass the EX413: The first step toward earning the RHC: Datacenter certification
William "Bo" Rothwell is a former Red Hat Certified Instructor and Red Hat Certified Examiner who has been working as a professional technical trainer for more than 25 years. He is the author of 25+ technical courses, books, and videos, including the O'Reilly title "Red Hat Certified Engineer - Exam EX300 Training." Bo holds numerous Linux certifications and is an experienced Perl, Python, and Tcl developer.

Publisher resources

View/Submit Errata

Table of contents

  1. Introduction
    1. Welcome To The Course 00:01:13
    2. About The Author 00:00:42
  2. Software Updates
    1. RHCVEs And RHSAs 00:05:02
    2. YUM Security Features 00:04:19
    3. Verify Packages 00:04:18
    4. Updating And Installing Packages 00:05:54
  3. File System Creation
    1. BTRFs Filesystem Creation 00:06:04
    2. Ext4 Filesystem Creation 00:03:04
    3. XFS Filesystem Creation 00:02:50
    4. Encrypted Filesystems 00:07:35
  4. File System Properties
    1. General Filesystem Properties 00:06:25
    2. BTRFs Filesystem Properties 00:03:11
    3. Ext4 Filesystem Properties 00:02:01
    4. XFS Filesystem Properties 00:03:05
  5. Special Permissions
    1. SUID Permissions 00:06:24
    2. SGID Permissions 00:06:21
    3. Sticky Bit Permissions 00:02:30
  6. File Access Controls
    1. FACL Concepts 00:03:32
    2. FACL Management 00:09:05
  7. User Account Security
    1. User Accounts 00:04:58
    2. Password Aging 00:07:00
    3. Group Account Security 00:05:50
  8. Pam
    1. Pam Concepts 00:04:02
    2. Pam Configuration 00:08:55
    3. Pam Examples 00:08:18
  9. Central Authentication Installation
    1. Understand RH Identity Management 00:03:57
    2. Install RH Identity Management Server 00:09:53
    3. Install RH Identity Management Client 00:02:14
  10. Central Authentication Management
    1. The IDM Command Line Utilities 00:05:50
    2. The IDM Web UI 00:03:58
  11. System Logging
    1. Review Rsyslogd Configuration 00:06:11
    2. Rsyslogd Modules 00:05:12
    3. Journald 00:07:05
    4. Remote Logging 00:04:52
  12. System Auditing
    1. Overview Of System Auditing 00:05:17
    2. The Audit Service Configuration 00:11:33
    3. Audit Log Files 00:07:03
  13. Firewalls
    1. Firewall Review 00:06:27
    2. Firewalld Services 00:05:09
    3. Firewalld Rich Rules 00:06:05
    4. Firewalld Port Forwarding 00:03:59
  14. Conclusion
    1. Wrap Up And Thank You 00:00:30

Product information

  • Title: Red Hat Certificate of Expertise in Server Hardening - Exam EX413 Training
  • Author(s): William Rothwell
  • Release date: February 2017
  • Publisher(s): Infinite Skills
  • ISBN: 9781491974476