Configuring DNS Server Master Zones

As mentioned earlier, DNS comes in three flavors:

  • Master (also called primary)

  • Slave (also called secondary)

  • Caching-only

We discussed creating a caching-only server earlier in the chapter. Caching-only servers cannot answer queries, but can only pass those queries on to other servers with master or slave zones that are authoritative over the domain in question. However, all DNS servers should be configured to perform caching functions.

Now let's turn our attention to adding DNS server master zones. A DNS server master zone can answer queries about its domain without querying other servers, because its data resides on the local hard disk. A DNS server master zone is considered to have the most up-to-date records ...

Get Red Hat® Linux® 7 Unleashed now with O’Reilly online learning.

O’Reilly members experience live online training, plus books, videos, and digital content from 200+ publishers.