14. Voluntary Eye Movement

14-1. Introduction

For securing well-focused foveal vision, the frontal eye field of the cerebral cortex controls three types of voluntary eye movement; smooth pursuit, saccades, and vergence. An additional eye field is located in the dorsomedial frontal cortex, which appears to play roles in integrating voluntary eye movements with nonoculomotor cortical functions. Four distinct areas of the cerebellum are involved in the three types of eye movements: (1) paraflocculus/flocculus, (2) lobulus petrosus of the paraflocculus, (3) vermal lobules VI/VII, and (4) crus I and crus II (corresponding to HV–HVII). These four areas have different roles in tracking objects moving in three-dimensional space.

14-2. The Frontal Eye ...

Get The Cerebellum: Brain for an Implicit Self now with O’Reilly online learning.

O’Reilly members experience live online training, plus books, videos, and digital content from 200+ publishers.