Thirteenth Finance Commission: An Overview

R. Shyama Nair

33.1 Introduction

The Constitution of India provides for the formation of a Finance Commission (FC) every five years under Article 280, to recommend to the President of India certain measures, relating to the division of the financial resources between the centre and the states. The Thirteenth Finance Commission (13th FC) was constituted in November 2007, under the chairmanship of Dr Vijay Kelkar, to make recommendations on the specified aspects of the centre state fiscal relations for the period 2010–15. The Commission submitted its report to the President on 30th December 2009.

The major constitutionally mandated responsibilities of a FC are the (i) distribution between the union ...

Get The Indian Economy Since 1991, 2nd Edition now with the O’Reilly learning platform.

O’Reilly members experience books, live events, courses curated by job role, and more from O’Reilly and nearly 200 top publishers.