The Define phase (see Figure 1.1) is the starting point for all Lean Six Sigma projects. Regardless of whether the project will rely more on Lean tools and principles or on those from Six Sigma, the deliverables for this phase are the same. There are four major steps in the Define phase, each with designated tools:


Figure 1.1 Overview of Define Steps

Step 1: Define the project CTQ or the item or area in need of improvement.

Step 2: Outline the business case.

Step 3: Develop a high-level process map.

Step 4: Define and execute a change management strategy.

Given these steps, the main deliverables in this phase are:

• The identification ...

Get The McGraw-Hill 36-Hour Course: Lean Six Sigma now with O’Reilly online learning.

O’Reilly members experience live online training, plus books, videos, and digital content from 200+ publishers.