This book would not have been possible without the generous time
and insights of many people, including, but not limited to, the follow-
ing: Tabor Ames, PQ Media; Jeff Arbour, The Hyperfactory; Whitney
Ashley, The Rose Group; Andy Bates, Interbrand; Suzanne Bedau,
Disney/ABC Television Group; Tom Bedecarré, AKQA; Mike
Benson, ABC Entertainment; Allyson Bentley, Goodby, Silverstein &
Partners; Josh Bernoff, Forrester Research; Jordan Bitterman, Digitas;
Alex Bogusky, Crispin, Porter + Bogusky; Julie Bornstein, Sephora;
Katie Boylan, Edelman; John Butler, Butler, Shine, Stern & Partners;
Joe Case, Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company; Katie Cerruti,
Goodby, Silverstein & Partners; Jennifer Conway, Dotted Line
Communications; Dennis Crowley, Foursquare; Roy Elvove, BBDO;
Beata Fagring, Forsman & Bodenfors; Lauren Farmer, HBO; Steven
Feldman, Cielo Group; Alexis Frank, Interbrand; Carl Fremont,
Digitas; Yvonne Fulchiron, TiVo; Christine Haker, Monitor; Jeff
Hasen, HipCricket; Dave Herbert, Transit Films; Joe Herbert, Transit
Films; Mandy Holder, IconNicholson; Jon Howell, TiVo; Linda
Hymer, Forsman & Bodenfors; Alex Johnson, Alex Johnson
Photography; Tristan Jordan, MasterCard Worldwide; Gabriella
Kallay, PQ Media; Susan Kappes, BBDO; Steve Keyes, Volkswagen
Group of America; Laura Klauberg, Unilever; Melissa Klein, Launch
Squad; Anita Larsen, Unilever; Belle Lenz, DiGennaro
Communications; Mira Leytes, IconNicholson; Caitlin Looney,
Mozes; Dean Macri, Cielo Group; John Mastrojohn, Unilever; Tim
McIntyre, Domino’s Pizza; Jason Mirvis, The Electric Sheep
Company; Courteney Monroe, HBO; Dave Morgan, Simulmedia;
Molly Morse, Kekst & Company; Tom Nicholson, IconNicholson;
Dominick O’Brien, Glue London; Kim O’Brien, Burger King
Corporation; Christine O’Donnell, Goodby, Silverstein & Partners;
Bridget O’Malley, Edelman; Molly Parsons, AKQA; Coral Petretti,
The Disney/ABC Television Group; Prinz Pinakatt, Coca-Cola
Europe; Dorrian Porter, Mozes; Patrick Quinn, PQ Media; Ben
Relles, Barely Political/Digital; Derek Robson, Goodby, Silverstein &
Partners; Steve Sapka, Crispin, Porter + Bogusky; Chuka Schneider,
Crispin, Porter + Bogusky; Peter Schwartz, Global Business Network;
Doug Scott, OgilvyEntertainment; Tina Sharkey, BabyCenter; Linda
Shaw, Unilever; Maria Shterew, Medicis Pharmaceutical Corporation;
Adrian Si, Toyota Motor Corporation; George Simpson, George H.
Simpson Communications; Joddy Sloan, Domino’s; Paul Stevens,
Privacy Rights Clearinghouse; Mike Switzer, Nationwide Mutual
Insurance Company; Allison Takahashi, Toyota Motor Corporation;
Angela Thompson, Makena; Kevin Townsend, Science + Fiction;
Sibley Verbeck, The Electric Sheep Company; Sansita Verma’s TAG
Networks, Jocelyn Weiss, BBDO; Victoria Weld, Kekst & Company;
Stephanie Wendelin, OgilvyEntertainment; Michael Wilson, Makena;
Rick Wootten, SonicWALL; Tim Zuckert, Shift Control Media; and
many others.
A special thanks to Ellen Kadin, William Helms, Cathleen
Ouderkirk, Debbie Posner, Mike Sivilli, Jenny Wesselmann, and the
rest of the talented team at AMACOM Books. It is always a pleasure
to work with you.
And to J & K—you make it all worthwhile.

Get The On-Demand Brand: 10 Rules for Digital Marketing Success in an Anytime, Everywhere World now with the O’Reilly learning platform.

O’Reilly members experience books, live events, courses curated by job role, and more from O’Reilly and nearly 200 top publishers.