Appendix 1: The WorldHeritage List

(December 1996)

The World Heritage Committee has inscribed the following properties on the World Heritage List. The List, arranged alphabetically by nominating country, is current as of December 1996.


1992  Butrinti


1980  Al Qal'a of Beni Hammad

1982  Tassili N'Ajjer

1982  M'Zab Valley

1982  Djémila

1982  Tipasa

1982  Timgad

1992  Kasbah of Algiers


1981  Los Glaciares

1984  Iguazu National Park

Argentina and Brazil

1984  Jesuit Missions of the Guaranis: San Ignacio Mini, Santa Ana, Nuestra Senora de Loreto and Santa Maria Mayor (Argentina), ruins of Sao Miguel das Missoes (Brazil)


1996  The Monastery of Haghpat


1981  Great Barrier Reef

1981  Kakadu National Park

Get Visitor Management now with O’Reilly online learning.

O’Reilly members experience live online training, plus books, videos, and digital content from 200+ publishers.