7. Map your skills

Cartoon image of a human icon holding a pencil.
Cartoon image of five blocks placed side to side, along with an image each representative of them drawn above them. These blocks are together labeled “the five building blocks,” and are individually labeled the following, from left to right: (1) discover your visual language, (2) design your collaboration process, (3) define key questions, (4) create engaging templates, and (5) prepare to scale., (6) enable group learning, (7) map your skills, (8) activate your resources, and (9) Do's and Don'ts. Drawn above these are posters with related images with the following text: three competence area, eight skills, tool: skills wheel. A cartoon image of human icon on seventh block can be seen drawing a sketch on an easel.

Three competence areas

We have identified three competence areas that we find particularly useful to master when you are facilitating, preparing, or otherwise working visually.


Eight skills

Under each of the three competence areas, we have selected a series of practical skills to practice if you wish to improve at working visually.


images Group understanding

To see from other people's perspectives, sense a group, and motivate and engage it.


Group dynamics are important; they have an impact on what a group can achieve. A group's ability to collaborate and learn together is advanced when the individual group participant feel that they are part of a community. This happens when each person is seen, heard, and understood. If you can facilitate this, you are creating both a good foundation for your shared work and legitimacy around your role as a facilitator. If you can at the same time show that you understand the needs of the group and work with them in a structured ...

Get Visual Collaboration now with the O’Reilly learning platform.

O’Reilly members experience live online training, plus books, videos, and digital content from nearly 200 publishers.