Deleting a virtual machine snapshot
To delete a virtual machine snapshot, you should use the virtual machine Snapshot Manager.
You can perform two types of delete operations:
- Delete operation: This operation will let you choose a snapshot to be deleted. When this is done, the data held by its VMSN, the changes recorded by the VMX, and the delta file are committed (written) to its immediate parent.
- Delete all operation: When this operation is performed, only the contents of the current snapshot and its delta file are committed to the base disk. The rest will be discarded; the VMSN and the delta files will be deleted as well.
The following procedure explains how to delete a virtual machine snapshot using Snapshot Manager: