9.12. Prevent Windows Live Mail from Sending a Read Receipt

You can block Windows Live Mail from sending a message that confirms you have opened a message.

The Internet e-mail system occasionally breaks down and some e-mail messages never arrive at their destination. Often you get no indication that there was a problem, so you assume the message got through.

A person sending an important message may want to know whether you have read the message because then at least they know the message was delivered safely. A read receipt is a short message that Windows Live Mail automatically fires back to the sender when you open or preview a message from that person. The read receipt — which must be requested by the sender — ensures the sender that you ...

Get Windows® 7 Visual™ Quick Tips now with O’Reilly online learning.

O’Reilly members experience live online training, plus books, videos, and digital content from 200+ publishers.