O'Reilly logo
live online training icon Live Online training

OSCON Open Source Software Superstream Series

Infrastructure

Topic: Software Development
Rachel Roumeliotis
Kelsey Hightower

Sponsors

IBM Capital One

About the OSCON Superstream Series: This three-part series of half-day online events gives attendees an overarching perspective of software development from which to make decisions that strengthen and grow companies and industries, a deep knowledge of key open source technologies to make it happen, and a community in which both they and their companies can thrive.

Series schedule:

  • Event 1: Live Coding—Go, Rust, and Python (completed)
  • Event 2: Cloud Strategies and Implementation (completed)
  • Event 3: Infrastructure - August 13, 2020

With today’s registration, you’ll be automatically signed up for all sessions in the Superstream series. You’ll also get access to video recordings of all sessions as they become available, including any you may have missed.

Description: Containers. Continuous delivery. Monitoring. Chaos engineering. SRE. Infrastructure today is wildly more complicated—and the wall between software development and deployment is dust. We’ll shed light on new paradigms and a slew of tooling options for observability, testing, and reactive programming.

What you'll learn-and how you can apply it

  • The difference between observability and monitoring—and the open source tools that will help you improve observability
  • How to build your own simple reactive systems
  • How modern web apps can define a self-aligning testing methodology—and how one company put this technique into practice
  • How to manage feature flags with open source tools such as HashiCorp Consul and apply them to infrastructure with Terraform

This Superstream is for you because...

  • You need to better observe the complex infrastructure and systems you’ve built and prevent failure.
  • You want to learn how to use reactive programming to make your applications more responsive, resilient, and elastic.
  • You need to improve your testing processes to ensure that your codebase is maintainable and scalable.
  • You want to use feature flags to test your applications and infrastructure.

Prerequisites

  • Come with your questions
  • Have a pen and paper handy to capture notes, insights, and inspiration

About your hosts

  • Rachel Roumeliotis is vice president of content strategy at O'Reilly, where she leads an editorial team that covers a wide variety of programming topics ranging from full stack to open source in the enterprise to emerging programming languages. She’s been a programming chair for the O'Reilly OSCON, Fluent, Strata, Software Architecture, and Security Conferences. She’s currently the programming chair for the OSCON and Strata Data & AI Superstream Series on O'Reilly online learning. She's been working in technical publishing for 10 years, acquiring content in many areas including mobile programming, UX, computer security, and AI.

  • Kelsey Hightower has worn every hat possible throughout his career in tech and enjoys leadership roles focused on making things happen and shipping software. Kelsey is a strong open source advocate focused on building simple tools that make people smile. When he isn’t slinging Go code, you can catch him giving technical workshops covering everything from programming to system administration.

Schedule

The timeframes are only estimates and may vary according to how the class is progressing

EVENT 3: INFRASTRUCTURE - August 13, 9:00AM–1:00PM PT | 12:00PM–4:00PM ET | 5:00PM–9:00PM UTC/GMT

Rachel Roumeliotis and Kelsey Hightower: Introduction (5 minutes) - 9:00am PT | 12:00pm ET | 5:00pm UTC/GMT

  • Rachel Roumeliotis and Kelsey Hightower welcome you to the OSCON Open Source Software Superstream Series.

Brianna McCullough: Open Source Tools for Better Observability (60 minutes) - 9:05am PT | 12:05pm ET | 5:05pm UTC/GMT

  • The observability of a system depends on the system’s simplicity, the insightful representation of the performance metrics, and the capability of the monitoring tools to identify the correct metrics. Brianna McCullough explores the difference between observability and monitoring and outlines the open source tools you can use to differentiate between the two in order to answer the questions: How does observability contribute to software lifecycle ownership, how can people better observe the complex infrastructure and systems we’ve built, and how can we better prevent failure?

  • Brianna McCullough is an authoritative force conquering dynamic duality as an infrastructure program manager at Google and founder of the lifestyle empowerment brand Bri Limitless. In her daily mission to diversify the engineering industry, the innovation leader and Detroit, Michigan, native resiliently shares her voice and vision for inclusivity across STEM fields, specializing in infrastructure, while simultaneously serving youth and fellow millennials with mentorship and enthusiastic encouragement to live life without limits.

Spotlight on Caribbean Girls Hack (10 minutes) - 10:05am PT | 1:05pm ET | 6:05pm UTC/GMT

  • Speaker details to come

Mary Grygleski and Grace Jansen: Building Reactive Apps for Modern Infrastructure (30 minutes) - 10:15am PT | 1:15pm ET | 6:15pm UTC/GMT

  • So you're a developer who’s heard the phrase "reactive programming" and are excited to see how you can use its guiding principles to make your application more responsive, resilient, and elastic. With the advances over the past decade in hardware, containerization, and virtualization technologies, architecture patterns like reactive systems are becoming increasingly popular for taking advantage of this improving infrastructure. Join Mary Grygleski and Grace Jansen to get hands-on as you learn how to build your own simple reactive systems.

  • Mary Grygleski is a developer advocate at IBM specializing in reactive Java, open source, and distributed systems. She’s worked for several technology companies in both Boston’s Route 128 Technology Corridor and the San Francisco Bay Area and is the president and executive board member of the Chicago Java Users Group (CJUG). She’s also an active co-organizer for the Data, Cloud, and AI in Chicago, Chicago Cloud, and IBM Cloud Chicago meetup groups. Mary continues to be amazed by how software innovations can dramatically transform our lives.

  • Grace Jansen is a developer advocate at IBM working with Open Liberty and the Reactive Platform. She’s been with IBM since graduating from Exeter University with a degree in biology. As a developer advocate, Grace builds POCs, demos, and sample applications and writes guides and tutorials. She’s a regular presenter at international technology conferences and recently authored a book on reactive systems. She also has a keen passion for encouraging more women into STEM and especially technology careers.

  • Break (5 minutes)

Tiffany Le-Nguyen: User-Centric Testing for 2020—How Expedia Modernized Its Testing for the Web (60 minutes) - 10:50am PT | 1:50pm ET | 6:50pm UTC/GMT

  • In the present-day web, interactions are complex, accessibility's a priority, performance is essential, and UI updates keep us on our toes. So how do you ensure that changes won't cause unwanted side effects while minimally burdening devs? Tiffany Le-Nguyen takes you through Expedia’s modern end-to-end testing suite, which puts users first, for a maintainable and scalable codebase. Learn how modern web apps can define a self-aligning testing methodology, from unit to visual regression, that will adapt to change and discover how to identify your users and test for their individual needs while balancing cost and confidence in your systems.

  • Tiffany Le-Nguyen (she/her) is a software engineer and subject-matter expert in React and testing at ExpediaGroup. She spends most of her time pushing for and building the best possible experience for developers and users alike and thinking at scale. Tiffany is also a mentor and runs freeCodeCamp Montreal, helping new programmers reach their goals in the development world.

Spotlight on NONPROFIT TK(10 minutes) - 11:50am PT | 2:50pm ET | 7:50pm UTC/GMT

  • Break (5 minutes)

Rosemary Wang: Applying Application Feature Toggles to Infrastructure (60 minutes) - 12:05pm PT | 3:05pm ET | 8:05pm UTC/GMT

  • Is it possible to use feature flags (a.k.a. feature toggles) to test in production for applications and infrastructure? Join Rosemary Wang to explore feature flag management with open source tools such as HashiCorp Consul. You’ll then learn how to apply some of these techniques to infrastructure, such as Kubernetes, and infrastructure as code with HashiCorp Terraform.

  • As a principal DevOps engineer, Rosemary Wang has a fascination for solving intractable problems with code, whether it be helping an infrastructure engineer program or an application developer troubleshoot infrastructure failures. She interfaces with vendors, clients, startups, and open source projects to find creative software solutions for infrastructure. When she isn’t drawing on whiteboards, Rosemary valiantly attempts to hack stacks of various infrastructure systems on her laptop while tending to her indoor garden.

Rachel Roumeliotis and Kelsey Hightower: Closing Remarks (5 minutes) - 1:05pm PT | 4:05pm ET | 9:05pm UTC/GMT