Lesson 13. Securing the Local System


This lesson takes approximately 2 hours to complete.


Understand the four layers of Mac OS X local security

Set Open Firmware restrictions

Create secure Mac OS X installations

Use Disk Utility effectively

Understand Mac OS 9 (Classic) and security

Use the firewall in Mac OS X

Use FileVault

The Mac OS X local security model has four layers. The layers are not independent; an attacker can use a weakness in one layer to bypass the protections provided by some or all of the other layers. So setting up a secure Mac OS X computer requires that all four be locked down properly. The four layers in the Mac OS X security model are:

• Physical security: An attacker who has physical access to the ...

Get Apple Training Series: Mac OS X System Administration Reference, Volume 1 now with O’Reilly online learning.

O’Reilly members experience live online training, plus books, videos, and digital content from 200+ publishers.