Managing Dreamweaver Sites

When you work with Dreamweaver, always keep in mind that you’ll have a set of files on your computer for each site you work on as well as a “site” that you’ve set up in Dreamweaver. The files on your computer will always be there (until you or your mischievous cat delete them): They exist even without Dreamweaver. However, when you use Dreamweaver, you’ll also have a list of all the sites you’ve set up within the program using the process described in Setting Up a Site (in Depth) on Setting Up a Site (in Depth). These Dreamweaver “sites” are nothing more than the information Dreamweaver needs to locate and work with your web files and to connect to your web server. You can edit and delete a Dreamweaver “site” without doing any harm to the actual site files on your computer.

Editing or Removing Sites

Sometimes you need to edit the information associated with a site. Perhaps you want to rename the site, or you reorganized your hard drive and moved the local root folder, so you want to let Dreamweaver know the new location.

To edit a site, open the Manage Sites dialog box (choose Site→Manage Sites or, in the Files panel, choose Manage Sites from the bottom of the Site drop-down menu) and double-click the name of the site you want to edit. The Site Setup window opens (top image in Figure 15-4). Now you can type a new name in the Site Name box, choose a new local root folder, or make any other changes you want. Click OK to close the dialog box when you’re done. ...

Get Dreamweaver CS6: The Missing Manual now with O’Reilly online learning.

O’Reilly members experience live online training, plus books, videos, and digital content from 200+ publishers.