4.8. Centrifugal gas–liquid separators

Centrifugal separators utilize centrifugal action for the separation of materials of different densities and phases. They are built in stationary and rotary types. Various modifications of stationary units are used more than any other kind. Centrifugal separators are generally divided into three types:
1. Stationary vane separators.
2. Cyclone separators.
3. Inertial centrifugal separators.
The efficiency of each of three types can be estimated using Table 4.3. Because of wide usage of cyclone separators for separation of liquid entrainment from gas streams, this type is discussed in the following sections.

4.8.1. Cyclone separators

The cyclone type unit is well recognized and accepted in a wide variety of applications ...

Get Natural Gas Processing now with the O’Reilly learning platform.

O’Reilly members experience live online training, plus books, videos, and digital content from nearly 200 publishers.