
This is the Title of the Book, eMatter Edition
Copyright © 2007 O’Reilly & Associates, Inc. All rights reserved.
28
|
Chapter 3: Guided Tour
• Merge others’ changes
•
svn merge
• svn resolved
• Commit your changes
•
svn commit
Update Your Working Copy
When working on a project with a team, you may want to update your working copy
to receive any changes made since your last update by other developers on the
project. Use
svn update to bring your working copy in sync with the latest revision in
the repository.
$ svn update
U foo.c
U bar.c
Updated to revision 2.
In this case, someone else checked in modifications to both foo.c and bar.c since the
last time you updated, and Subversion has updated your working copy to include
those changes.
Let’s examine the output of
svn update a bit more. When the server sends changes to
your working copy, a letter code is displayed next to each item to let you know what
actions Subversion performed to bring your working copy up-to-date:
U foo
File foo was Updated (received changes from the server).
A foo
File or directory foo was Added to your working copy.
D foo
File or directory foo was Deleted from your working copy.
R foo
File or directory foo was Replaced in your working copy; that is, foo was deleted,
and a new item with the same name was added. While they may have the same
name, the repository considers them to be distinct objects with distinct histories.
G foo
File foo received ...