Managing the Logon Process

Unlike Windows XP, which provides a radically different logon experience for computers joined to a domain compared with those in a workgroup or not connected to a network, the process is similar for all users of Windows Vista. The key differences:

  • By default, on a computer joined to a domain, users must press Ctrl+Alt+Delete before the logon screen appears. This requirement can be removed from domain computers or added to others, as described in Inside Out: Skip the Ctrl+Alt+Delete requirement.

  • The Welcome screen for a workgroup or standalone computer shows an icon for each account on the computer, as shown in Figure 13-8. By contrast, after pressing Ctrl+Alt+Delete, a domain user sees only one user account, along with ...

Get Windows Vista® Inside Out Deluxe Edition now with O’Reilly online learning.

O’Reilly members experience live online training, plus books, videos, and digital content from 200+ publishers.