Saving Databases
Unlike other programs, Access doesn’t require that you save your data. It automatically saves any edits you make to the records in a table. This automatic-saving process takes place every time you change a record, and it happens almost instantaneously. It also takes place behind the scenes, and you probably won’t notice anything. But don’t be alarmed when you exit Access and it doesn’t prompt you to save changes, as any change to your data is saved the moment you make it.
Note
The rules are a bit different for database objects (Understanding Access Databases). When you add or edit a database object, Access waits until you finish and close the object, at which point it prompts you to save or discard your changes. If you’re a bit paranoid and you can’t stand the wait, just choose File→Save to save the current database object immediately.
Making Backups
The automatic save feature can pose a problem if you make a change mistakenly. If you’re fast enough, you can use the Undo feature to reverse your last change (Figure 1-11). However, the Undo feature reverses only your most recent edit, so it’s no help if you edit a series of records and then discover the problem. It also doesn’t help if you close your table and then reopen it.

Figure 1-11. The Undo command appears in the Quick Access toolbar at the top left of the Access window, so it’s always available.
For these reasons, ...
Become an O’Reilly member and get unlimited access to this title plus top books and audiobooks from O’Reilly and nearly 200 top publishers, thousands of courses curated by job role, 150+ live events each month,
and much more.
Read now
Unlock full access