Information Technology Act, 2000

Learning Objectives

After reading this chapter, you will be able to understand:

  • Scope of the Act
  • Electronic records and its validity
  • Digital signatures
  • Authentication of electronic records
  • E-governance
  • Electronic offences and penalty

The Information Technology Act is divided into 13 chapters, 94 sections, and 5 schedules.

Chapter 1: Scope and Definitions

Chapter 2: Authentication of Electronic Records Using Digital Signature

Chapter 3: Electronic Governance

Chapter 4: Attribution, Receipt, and Dispatch of Electronic Records

Chapter 5: Secure Electronic Records, and Secure Digital Signature

Chapter 6: Regulation of Certifying Authorities

Chapter 7: Digital Signature Certification

Get Business Law, 3rd Edition now with the O’Reilly learning platform.

O’Reilly members experience live online training, plus books, videos, and digital content from nearly 200 publishers.