
CHAPTER 3: Establishing a Color Management–Friendly Workflow
50
BATCH PROCESSING FOR INTERNET OUTPUT
Prepping les for output on the Web can be automated via batch processing. One way to do this is to record an action in
Photoshop. To do so, use the Image → Image Size command along with Edit → Convert to Pro le. Once this action is
recorded, you can use File → Automate → Batch from the Photoshop main menu, select the action, a folder of images, and
batch process these images with your action.
My favorite method for batch processing for the Internet
is using Image Processor. Go to File → Scripts → Image
Processor in Photoshop (or from Adobe Bridge, select
Tools → Photoshop → Image Processor). Here you can
select “Resize image,” type in the pixel dimension, select
“Convert Pro le to sRGB,” and batch process all your
selected images from the Bridge.
When you batch process in this way, in order
to obtain the Bicubic Sharper option for
downsampling, you have to set your preferences
ahead of time. In Photoshop under Edit →
Preferences → General (Windows), or Photoshop
→ Preferences → General (Mac), select Bicubic
Sharper from the Image Interpolation pull-down
menu, which will then become the default setting.
Now, when you use the Image Processor from
either the Bridge or Photoshop, Bicubic
Sharper will be used.
ETCM_book.indb 50 10/6/06 4:48:43 PM