Chapter 1 introduces the systems development life cycle (SDLC), the fundamental four-phase model (planning, analysis, design, and implementation) common to all information systems development projects. It describes the evolution of system development methodologies and discusses the roles and skills required of a systems analyst. The chapter then overviews the basic characteristics of object-oriented systems and the fundamentals of object-oriented systems analysis and design and closes with a description of the Unified Process and its extensions and the Unified Modeling Language.


  • Understand the fundamental systems development life cycle and its four phases
  • Understand the evolution of systems development methodologies
  • Be familiar with the different roles played by and the skills of a systems analyst
  • Be familiar with the basic characteristics of object-oriented systems
  • Be familiar with the fundamental principles of object-oriented systems analysis and design
  • Be familiar with the Unified Process, its extensions, and the Unified Modeling Language


  1. Introduction
  2. The Systems Development Life Cycle
    1. Planning
    2. Analysis
    3. Design
    4. Implementation
  3. Systems Development Methodologies
    1. Structured Design
    2. Rapid Application Development (RAD)
    3. Agile Development
    4. Selecting the Appropriate Development Methodology
  4. Typical Systems Analyst Roles and Skills
    1. Business Analyst
    2. Systems Analyst
    3. Infrastructure Analyst
    4. Change Management ...

Get Systems Analysis and Design with UML, 4th Edition now with the O’Reilly learning platform.

O’Reilly members experience books, live events, courses curated by job role, and more from O’Reilly and nearly 200 top publishers.