Chapter 3

Cloud Deployment Models


In this chapter, we cover the four cloud deployment models defined by NIST: public, private, community, and hybrid. Each deployment model has its own benefits, disadvantages, and value proposition. Understanding the characteristics of each model will help you when it comes time for you to select a model or models to use in your organization.


public cloud; private cloud; community cloud; hybrid cloud

Chapter Points

■ Public Clouds

■ Private Clouds

■ Community Clouds

■ Hybrid Clouds


NIST defines four cloud deployment models: public clouds, private clouds, community clouds, and hybrid clouds. A cloud deployment model is defined according to where the infrastructure for the deployment ...

Get The Basics of Cloud Computing now with O’Reilly online learning.

O’Reilly members experience live online training, plus books, videos, and digital content from 200+ publishers.