Chapter 4

Cloud Service Models


This chapter covers the various cloud service models. The three main service models outlined by NIST are Software as a Service (SaaS), Platform as a Service (PaaS), and Infrastructure as a Service (IaaS). We go over these three service models and a few of the newer service models that are starting to be become prominent, including Database as a Service (DbaaS), Desktop as a Service (DaaS), and Security as a Service.


SaaS; IaaS; PaaS; infrastructure; platform; software; service; DaaS; DbaaS; security; NIST; ASP

Chapter Points

■ Software as a Service

■ Platform as a Service

■ Infrastructure as a Service

■ Additional Service Models


According to the National Institute of Standards and ...

Get The Basics of Cloud Computing now with O’Reilly online learning.

O’Reilly members experience live online training, plus books, videos, and digital content from 200+ publishers.