Chapter 6

Securing Cloud Computing Systems

Cem Gurkok,    Verizon Terremark

1 Cloud Computing Essentials: Examining the Cloud Layers

Cloud computing is composed of several layers, such as public, private, hybrid, and community deployment models: SaaS, PaaS, IaaS (service, platform, infrastructure as a service or SPI) service models. The NIST Model of Cloud Computing is shown in Figure 6.1.


Figure 6.1 NIST model of cloud computing [1].

Infrastructure as a service (IaaS) provides online processing, data storage capacity, or network capacity on a virtualized environment. It offers the ability to provision processing, storage, networks, and other ...

Get Computer and Information Security Handbook, 2nd Edition now with O’Reilly online learning.

O’Reilly members experience live online training, plus books, videos, and digital content from 200+ publishers.