4.8. Selecting the Java Runtime for Builds
Problem
You want to target your code at a particular JRE, or change the default JRE that Eclipse uses.
Solution
You can specify what Java runtime you want Eclipse to use by selecting Window→ Preferences, clicking Installed JREs, and choosing the JRE you want (use the Add button to add JREs and SDKs).
Discussion
When you first run Eclipse, it searches for installed Java runtimes, which means it might not use the one you want to use. For example, Eclipse might want to use the outdated JRE that came with your browser instead of the new Java SDK you’ve just downloaded. To specify what runtime to use, select Window→ Preferences, click Installed JREs, and choose the JRE you want, as shown in Figure 4-14.

Figure 4-14. Choosing a JRE
Tip
To set a project-specific JRE (as when you want to target a project to a specific JRE), select Project→ Properties→ Java Build Path, click the Libraries tab, click JRE System Library, and click Edit. In the dialog that appears, select a project-specific JRE.
Setting the JVM using the -vm switch
Eclipse might not start if the JRE it finds is too old. In this case,
start Eclipse from the command line and use the
-vm switch, specifying the JRE you want to use.
For example, you might type:
eclipse -vm c:\jre1.4\bin\javaw.exe
After Eclipse starts, set the JRE you want to use from then on.
See Also
Recipe 4.9 on running code; Chapter ...
Become an O’Reilly member and get unlimited access to this title plus top books and audiobooks from O’Reilly and nearly 200 top publishers, thousands of courses curated by job role, 150+ live events each month,
and much more.
Read now
Unlock full access