Managing the Logon Process
Unlike Windows XP, which provides a radically different logon experience for computers joined to a domain compared with those in a workgroup or not connected to a network, the process is similar for all users of Windows Vista. The key differences:
By default, on a computer joined to a domain, users must press Ctrl+Alt+Delete before the logon screen appears. This requirement can be removed from domain computers or added to others, as described in Inside Out: Skip the Ctrl+Alt+Delete requirement.
The Welcome screen for a workgroup or standalone computer shows an icon for each account on the computer, as shown in Figure 13-8. By contrast, after pressing Ctrl+Alt+Delete, a domain user sees only one user account, along with ...
Become an O’Reilly member and get unlimited access to this title plus top books and audiobooks from O’Reilly and nearly 200 top publishers, thousands of courses curated by job role, 150+ live events each month,
and much more.
Read now
Unlock full access