Sharing Files with Public Folders
To share items in your Public folder and its subfolders with other users of your computer, you don’t need to do a thing. By default, all users with an account on your computer (including Guest) can log on and create, view, modify, and delete files in the Public folders. The person who creates a file in a Public folder (or copies an item to a Public folder) is the file’s owner and has Full Control access. All others who log on locally have Modify access.
Note
For more information about access levels, see "Controlling Access with NTFS Permissions".
To share items in your Public folder with network users, in Network And Sharing Center, turn on Public Folder Sharing, as described in the preceding section. You can’t select ...
Become an O’Reilly member and get unlimited access to this title plus top books and audiobooks from O’Reilly and nearly 200 top publishers, thousands of courses curated by job role, 150+ live events each month,
and much more.
Read now
Unlock full access