Authorizing Computers
Before the iTunes Store moved to not-copy-protected songs, music fans had to suffer through the hostility of computer authorization. Since you may still have some of those older, protected songs, here's the scoop.
When you create an account in iTunes (a requirement of owning an iPhone), you automatically authorize that computer to play copy-protected songs from the iTunes Store. Authorization is Apple's way of making sure you don't go playing those music tracks on more than five computers, which would greatly displease the record companies.
You can copy those older songs onto a maximum of four other computers. To authorize each one to play music from your account, choose Store→Authorize Computer. (Don't worry; you just have to do this once per machine.)
When you've maxed out your limit and can't authorize any more computers, you may need to deauthorize one. On the computer you wish to demote, choose Store→Deauthorize Computer.
Tip
As noted above, most songs on iTunes today bear the little + sign, meaning "iTunes Plus." They have slightly higher audio quality—and they're not copy-protected. You can play them on any player that recognizes AAC files.
Then again, you can't go nuts, uploading them all over the Internet. Your name and email address are embedded in the file and quite visible to anyone (including any Apple lawyer) who chooses the track, chooses File→Get Info, and clicks the Summary tab.
Become an O’Reilly member and get unlimited access to this title plus top books and audiobooks from O’Reilly and nearly 200 top publishers, thousands of courses curated by job role, 150+ live events each month,
and much more.
Read now
Unlock full access