March 2012
Beginner to intermediate
230 pages
7h 27m
English
userdel — stdin stdout - file -- opt --help --version
userdel [-r]username
The userdel command deletes
an existing user.
# userdel smith
It does not delete the files in the user’s home directory
unless you supply the -r option.
Think carefully before deleting a user; consider deactivating the
account instead (with usermod
-L). And make sure you have backups of all the user’s
files before deleting them: you might need them again
someday.
Read now
Unlock full access