Privacy
There are three settings in the Backup and Restore section:
Back up my data. This setting backs up your Galaxy Tab settings and data to Google’s servers so that if you have a problem with your Tab, you can restore the settings and data at some later time. Obviously, if you don’t feel safe with your data riding an anonymous server somewhere, turn this option off.
Backup account. When data is backed up, it is backed up to the Google account you used when you set up the Tab. If you want to back up to a different account, tap this, tap “Add account,” and then follow the directions for adding a new account and using it to back up your data.
Automatic restore. If you uninstall an app, and later decide that you want to install it again, then if you have this turned on, the Tab automatically grabs the relevant data you’ve backed up using the “Back up my data” option and puts it back on your Tab when you reinstall the app.
In the Personal Data section, there’s a single setting:
Factory Data Reset. If you’re getting rid of your tablet, you don’t want anyone else to get all your data. Tap this button, and then follow the onscreen instructions for setting the Tab back to the way it was before you began using it. It deletes all your data, eliminates any changes you made to the Tab, deletes any apps you’ve installed, and makes the Tab look and work exactly the way it did when it was shipped from the factory. Tap it, and from the screen that appears, tap “Reset tablet.”
Become an O’Reilly member and get unlimited access to this title plus top books and audiobooks from O’Reilly and nearly 200 top publishers, thousands of courses curated by job role, 150+ live events each month,
and much more.
Read now
Unlock full access