Removing or disabling mailboxes
Mailboxes don’t last forever and eventually you will want to remove some from Exchange, usually after users leave the company. You’ll probably want to keep a mailbox for some time after a user leaves so that its contents are not immediately lost and they remain accessible to other users or for legal purposes. EMC provides two options for mailbox removal: You can either disable or remove a mailbox. The words “disable” and “remove” seem similar, but there’s a huge difference in what happens behind the scenes in each of these operations.
When you disable a mailbox, Exchange removes all of the properties from the underlying Windows user account in Active Directory that associates the user with the mailbox. The contents ...
Become an O’Reilly member and get unlimited access to this title plus top books and audiobooks from O’Reilly and nearly 200 top publishers, thousands of courses curated by job role, 150+ live events each month,
and much more.
Read now
Unlock full access