April 2005
Beginner to intermediate
448 pages
20h 37m
English
Automatic login allows one selected user to use the Mac without having to enter a password. If automatic login is enabled (page 236), then you must make sure to Log Out (not restart or shut down) before another user can log in. This is because the computer will automatically log you in again when it starts up.
If automatic login is not enabled, then it doesn't matter how you turn off the Mac—it will always display a Log In screen where every user, even Admins, will have to enter a password.
When you log out, all of your documents will close and your applications will quit. If this is inconvenient, read about “fast user switching,” opposite.
To log out, go to the Apple menu and choose “Log Out User….” ...
Read now
Unlock full access