Switch Users with a Click
The Mac has a feature called fast user switching that allows multiple users to stay logged in at the same time without having to close files or quit applications. If you're working on a newsletter and your teenager needs to do her homework, she can switch to her personal user environment, do her work, then you'll switch the Mac back to your user space—with your newsletter sitting there waiting for you. The important thing is that you didn't have to close your documents and quit your applications to log out.
When fast user switching is turned on, all users are listed in the top-right corner of your screen, next to the menu clock. The currently active user's name appears in the menu bar.
To see other user names and to ...
Become an O’Reilly member and get unlimited access to this title plus top books and audiobooks from O’Reilly and nearly 200 top publishers, thousands of courses curated by job role, 150+ live events each month,
and much more.
Read now
Unlock full access