Share Files with Other Users
Once users are set up, other users can only access each other's Public folders, the Drop Boxes inside the Public folders, and the Sites folders. But the Shared folder (which is in the Users folder, which is on your main hard disk) is available to everyone who uses the Mac. Here's how it works:
Put files in your own Public folder that you want others to be able to read, copy, or print. They have to open your Public folder to do so.
Other users can put files for you into your Drop Box, which is located inside of your Public folder. They cannot open your Drop Box, not even to see if their file successfully transferred.
Put files in the Shared folder that you want everyone who uses the Mac to have access to. This is a ...
Become an O’Reilly member and get unlimited access to this title plus top books and audiobooks from O’Reilly and nearly 200 top publishers, thousands of courses curated by job role, 150+ live events each month,
and much more.
Read now
Unlock full access