How it works...
If we select the Preserve original distributed switch and port group identifiers option and the vCenter managing the data center that the dvSwitch is being imported to has a dvSwitch with the same name, then that dvSwitch or its port groups are not deleted. Instead, the information from the backup file is merged and updated with the existing dvSwitch.
If we do not select the Preserve original distributed switch and port group identifiers option and the vCenter managing the data center that the dvSwitch is being imported into has a dvSwitch with the same name, then that dvSwitch or its port groups are not deleted, but a new dvSwitch with the configuration from the backup file is created. For example, if the data center had ...
Become an O’Reilly member and get unlimited access to this title plus top books and audiobooks from O’Reilly and nearly 200 top publishers, thousands of courses curated by job role, 150+ live events each month,
and much more.
Read now
Unlock full access