A delete operation can be performed in the following two methods:
- Delete Snapshot: This operation will allow for a specific snapshot to be deleted. When this is done, the data held by its VMSN and the delta file are committed (written) to its immediate parent. The virtual machine's configuration file (vmx) will be amended to reflect the parent disk/base disk of the deleted snapshot.
- Delete All Snapshots: This operation will allow for all snapshots to be deleted. When this is done, the data held by its VMSN and the delta file are committed (written) to its base disk. The virtual machine's configuration file (vmx) will be amended to reflect the base disk of the deleted snapshot.
The following procedure walks through the process ...