November 2012
Intermediate to advanced
424 pages
11h 59m
English
| Tip 307 | Make Time Machine Forget a File |
Time Machine periodically backs up every single file on your computer, including personal data. That might include data you want to permanently eradicate from your computer so it simply no longer exists—not as a file and not within a backup. You can eradicate a file using Tip 6, Get Rid of Files—Securely, but how do you remove it from all the Time Machine backups that occurred since the file was created or copied to your computer?

This is surprisingly easy to do. Start by browsing in Finder to the former location of the file you want to eradicate ...
Read now
Unlock full access