Name
Edit → Object
Synopsis
Excel provides the ability to add an OLE (Object Linking and Embedding) object directly into your worksheet. This means that you are placing an object from another Windows program into your worksheet that, when selected, provides you with the ability to use the other program’s editing tools to modify it. Objects are added to your worksheet using Insert → Object.
When you have a worksheet option that contains an object you can use Edit → Object to make modifications to the object that has been selected within the worksheet. The submenu options that display vary depending upon the type of object selected. With most objects you have the option of editing the object within the application that created it, by selecting the Edit → Object → Edit command. For example, if you have added a Microsoft Map to your worksheet, you can select Edit → Microsoft Map Object → Edit to make modifications to the selected map, as shown in Figure 4-16.

Figure 4-16. With Edit → Object the Excel window changes to look like the application that created the selected object
Object Command Name
When you select an object, the Object command name changes to reflect the type of image you have selected. For example, if you select a bitmap image, the Object command appears as Bitmap Image Object on the menu, with submenu options that allow you to Edit, Open, or Convert the image.
Become an O’Reilly member and get unlimited access to this title plus top books and audiobooks from O’Reilly and nearly 200 top publishers, thousands of courses curated by job role, 150+ live events each month,
and much more.
Read now
Unlock full access