March 2020
Beginner
660 pages
18h 28m
English
Once the upgrading process of core, theme, or plugin starts, WordPress will automatically enable maintenance mode and display the message shown in the first screenshot. WordPress creates a file called .maintenance inside the main WordPress folder. The file will contain a variable similar to the following code:
<?php $upgrading = 1576935023; ?>
This value contains the creation time of the maintenance file. The maintenance file expires after a few minutes. Even if the file is available, the maintenance mode will not show after expiration. If the upgrading process doesn't complete, we will be stuck in maintenance mode until it expires. So, we can manually delete the file to get the site out of maintenance mode.
Sometimes, we ...
Read now
Unlock full access