
292 GOOGLE APPS HACKS
You don’t necessarily have to edit a map all by yourself; maybe other members of a group or
organization have more information and are willing to help. If so, go into the editing mode for your
map once more by switching to the My Maps tab on Google Maps, selecting your custom map from
the list, and hitting the Edit button. Now click the link reading Collaborate, and in the dialog that
opens up, as shown in Figure 11-17, enter the Gmail email address of your friends or colleagues one
by one, separated by commas.
In the advanced permissions, you can choose to allow your friends or colleagues to invite more
collaborators. Alternatively, if you want to, you can even allow anyone to edit the map along with you.
People collaborating with you on a map can do anything you can do in terms of editing—that includes, for
example, deleting all your placemarks, lines, and areas. However, unless you checked the “Collaborators may
invite others” box in your collaboration management dialog, they will not be able to invite new collaborators.
+
Viewing a custom map
However, your placemarks will not be instantly visible now to everyone else using Google Maps;
neither will the map instantly appear in the public maps directory. So how do you invite others to
your map? Just click “Link to this page” on top—make ...