Log Out
Choose to Log Out, even if you’re the only user on the whole machine, when you are going to be away from your Mac for a while. Once you are logged out, no one else can get to your personal documents, fonts, applications, or even your Trash basket.
For extra protection, you can hide the Restart and Shut Down buttons that appear on the login screen (although I’m not clear on what good that does because anyone can just restart with the Restart button). Go to the Accounts system preferences and click the “Login Options” tab to hide the Restart and Shut Down buttons.
Log Out does not turn off the power to the computer, as Shut Down does, although it does go into a low-power mode. See Chapter 20 for details about multiple users and logging ...
Become an O’Reilly member and get unlimited access to this title plus top books and audiobooks from O’Reilly and nearly 200 top publishers, thousands of courses curated by job role, 150+ live events each month,
and much more.
Read now
Unlock full access