Default preferences
Boolean user preferences have a default value of false if they don't exist, but you can override this (or any other type of User Preference value) by manually creating a new User Preference record with the System tick-box checked, and with no User name in the User [user] field. When those two conditions are met, the preference record becomes a global default for all users. Keep in mind however, that users can override any preferences by setting a custom preference of their own (such as by toggling the Compact user interface switch). In fact, any users who have already configured such a preference manually will not be impacted by the addition of a new global default preference. You may however, revert all users to the global ...
Become an O’Reilly member and get unlimited access to this title plus top books and audiobooks from O’Reilly and nearly 200 top publishers, thousands of courses curated by job role, 150+ live events each month,
and much more.
Read now
Unlock full access